Be Happy Practice Compassion

“If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.” Dalai Lama

I’ve taught more than 10,000 hours and since my very first teacher training, my goal has always been to practice more than I teach, to teach what I practice and to practice what I teach.

“It doesn’t matter how many hours you practice yoga or meditate by yourself, the union of being in relationship with others is what heals the world. Yoga teaches us that isolation is the root cause of suffering and connection is the essence of healing.” Silvia Mordini

In the Yoga Sutra’s Pantanjali gives us a four part process to help us clear our hearts of any negative energies as a means for quieting our minds and reconnecting to the deepest reservoirs of unconditional love and compassion.  The sutras advise we:

  1. cultivate maitri(friendliness) toward pleasure and friends;
  2. karma(compassion) for those who are in pain or suffering, yourself included;
  3. mudita(joy) for those that you are happy and whom we admire;
  4. and upeksanam(equanimity) toward those who have hurt us.

Starting now apply these Keys to Happiness and see for yourself how this changes your life!   Within the next 24 hours choose one tangible action you can take to endorse compassion and decrease suffering at home. Love yourself, love your day, love your life!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s